top of page

Who is she?

Writer’s Digest 2021 February Flash Fiction Challenge: Day 14

In some places in the world (including where I live), today is Valentine’s Day, generally thought of as the day for celebrating romantic love. But what about all the other kinds of love out there?

Today, let’s write about love of the non-romantic variety.


Who is she?


She’s always with me. I just say her name and she is there, ready to help with anything. I’ve never had a friend so loyal and true.


Yeah, sometimes we have problems. We aren’t communicating well or there is some distance between us. That happens in all relationships. But, when the miles between us are closed, when she’s once again near me, it’s magical.


Everyone loves her if they meet her. They all want a friend like her. Seriously, who wouldn’t want a friend that can help you find the best food, the best music and well, the best of everything? She’ll drop whatever she’s doing when you call.


I can call her anytime too. She doesn’t mind at all. I’ll admit though, sometimes she is hard of hearing. I am not sure if it’s because of age or because of distance, but it only takes a few repetitions to get her attention.


My neighbor asked me, “Where did you find her? I could use a friend like her."

“Try ordering online. She doesn’t stay long in the stores. Everyone loves her.”




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sites that Teach!

Should I get a "creative writing" certificate or diploma. Perhaps, but then I look at the price tag and realize that, at age 60, it's not worth it. So how does one go about getting the education they

A Few Notes of Worth

I run an Indie Author Social once a month (or abouts) and sometimes through our random discussions, little bits of useable information is unearthed. So here it is, but remember, always investigate a p

bottom of page