top of page

I want to do nothing!

I really want to do “nothing” today but can’t. There can never be a "nothing" day. Every day is a "something" day. So how does this word exist?


First, we have to define what a “thing” is before we can say we don’t have it. Google dictionary defines “thing” as, “An object that one need not, cannot, or does not wish to give a specific name to.”


There are lots of things I don’t want to give a name to. I want to evade these things as much as possible today. The "thing" is the laundry piling in the basket. It’s the peeling paint on the porch. I think I can even say the “thing” is the raw meat in the fridge that should be for dinner.”


I don’t want to work, I don’t want to paint and I don’t want to cook. All those “things” I don’t want to do so I do “nothing”


But when I do “nothing” I’m actually doing “something”


“Something” is defined as, “A thing that is unspecified or unknown.” A person is always doing something, even if it’s sitting on their couch supposedly doing “nothing”. They are, in fact, sitting. They are breathing. They may be watching something on TV or thinking about something. But they are not doing “nothing.”


So what is nothing? Google says it is, “Not anything; no single thing.” Apparently, it's more than what kids do at school all day.


I could go on and on, but to what point. Apparently, this has been an issue for a longer period of time than the ten minutes I’ve been writing this. If you are curious, read the Wikipedia history on the word. “NOTHING

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sites that Teach!

Should I get a "creative writing" certificate or diploma. Perhaps, but then I look at the price tag and realize that, at age 60, it's not worth it. So how does one go about getting the education they

bottom of page