top of page

Flash Fiction Challenge: Day 10

Writer's Digest 2021 February Flash Fiction Challenge: Day 10 prompt: Any other animal lovers out there? Well, if not, I hope you’re ready: Today, the prompt is to write about an animal. Real or imaginary, the choice is yours!


I introduce Jazzy. She’s my dog and the star in all my Jazzy’s books. She is spoiled rotten. This is what I put up with every night.


“RRRRRRR”

“Jazzy go to sleep.”

“RRRRRRRRRRR”

The whining won’t stop. I rouse myself enough to lift the covers. My dog Jazzy jumps up and plows under, crawling down to my toes. She rests her head on my feet and starts snoring.

“RRRRR” thwump. Slop, slop, slop. Flappity, flappity flap. Pitter patter, pitter patter, “RRRRRRRR”

“Jazzy just get on the bed again.”

“RRRRRRRRRRRRR”

“Fine!” I sit up again, lifting the covers. Jazzy jumps up and burrows down to her position at my feet.

My husband wakes and starts getting ready for his day. I want to sleep some more.

“RRRRRRR”

“Jazzy, I don’t want to get up.”

“RRRRRRRRRRRR”

“Jazzy, go find daddy.”

Jazzy jumps off the bed. I hear her toes clip clop down the stairs. I listen for the squeak of the back door. “Yeah, daddy’s got her.” I think. I pull the covers over my head I traverse to the land of dreams once again.

“RRRRRRRR”

This time the sound is in my face. Jazzy has finished her morning routine with daddy and is ready to get back into bed. I am not ready to wake yet.

I pull the covers over my head.

“RRRRRRRRRRRRR” This time her whine is accompanied by a few pats of her paw.

“Fine!” I say lifting the covers once again to let her burrow to my toes.

I toss, I turn, I can’t sleep any more.

“I guess it’s time to get up!”

“RRRRRRRRRR”

“Fine, stay in bed.”


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sites that Teach!

Should I get a "creative writing" certificate or diploma. Perhaps, but then I look at the price tag and realize that, at age 60, it's not worth it. So how does one go about getting the education they

A Few Notes of Worth

I run an Indie Author Social once a month (or abouts) and sometimes through our random discussions, little bits of useable information is unearthed. So here it is, but remember, always investigate a p

bottom of page