top of page

Flash Fiction at Writer's Digest

I've been writing each day in response to a prompt provided by Moriah Richard.

The challenge is to write a short story every day in February. This is day four. "Any home or professional cooks out there? For today’s prompt, select a kitchen item and write from its perspective."


Here is my story about a Cake Tester.


It’s dark here. Every now and then, when a cabinet door opens, a little light seeps into the narrow cavern I’m in, but it doesn’t last long. The memories are the only thing that keeps me sane.

I started life as a beautiful piece of silver. When they melted me and poured me into the mold, I thought it would hurt, but I felt loved. They even wrote my name on me, like a badge. “Cake Tester!” it said.


I traveled many miles and watched all kinds of people walk in and out of the wedding store. One day, a beautiful baker bought me and, with a few other beautiful things tucked in a basket, gave me a new home. I was the ruler of all the baking utensils. Nothing was proclaimed finished until I tiptoed on it and decreed it done.


Then it happened. I tickled the brownies and gave them an “All clear!” Before I could be properly stowed in the sink for my shower, there was a loud wailing and my beautiful baker tossed me! She tossed me towards the sink as she ran out of the kitchen!


If I were in a new house, or a remodeled kitchen, life would never have changed. But I wasn’t. The counter was old and there was a gap between it and the edge of the sink. I slid, I swear, in slow motion towards the crack. My long leg teetered over the edge but I didn’t fall.


“Whew!” that was close. My heart had just slowed down when my baker came back carrying a noisy mini baker. She plopped that baby butt right onto the counter without a thought to the consequences. I started screaming as it got closer to me, but nobody could hear me. I think the measuring cups and the forks might have laughed, but I’m not sure, I was yelling rather loudly. But to no avail.


Down, down, down, into the spider web infested cavern I fell.


So that’s how I ended up here. Every now and then I feel something crawling on me. It’s disgusting. Sometimes I hear my beautiful baker say words like, “Remodel” or “New Counter” and I get excited. For now, though, I will hold my memories dear to my heart until we are reunited.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sites that Teach!

Should I get a "creative writing" certificate or diploma. Perhaps, but then I look at the price tag and realize that, at age 60, it's not worth it. So how does one go about getting the education they

A Few Notes of Worth

I run an Indie Author Social once a month (or abouts) and sometimes through our random discussions, little bits of useable information is unearthed. So here it is, but remember, always investigate a p

Newsletter Platforms

Everyone’s talking emails.  The email newsletter has always been the workhorse for authors marketing their brand. But how do authors know which email “tool” to use to send those. Now if you are small,

bottom of page